POEM is a four-piece progressive rock/metal group based in Athens, Greece formed in 2006. The line-up had a few changes over the years, but has for the past couple of years been based around George Prokopiou (vocals/guitar), Laurence Bergstrom (lead guitar), Stratos Haidos (bass) and Stavros Rigos (drums).

With a wide range of influences and love for experimentation, POEM embarked on a sound adventure defining their personal style from the very first songs. The four members have various musical backgrounds, which they bring into the studio and rehearsals, creating music that none of them could compose on their own. They love to experiment with different sounds and rhythms, so jamming freely is a liberating process for each member, both individually as well as a very unifying process for the band.

In December 2008 POEM recorded their debut album "The Great Secret Show", which Metal Hammer (Greece) characterized as, "The best Greek debut album since '00s and one of the 10 best albums of the Greek metal scene ever released". As a result they caught the eye of several record companies and ended up signing with the Greek label "Dromos Music" for a June 2009 release.

Their style of music can be classified as both progressive and alternative rock, with alternative metal undertones. POEM's potential is best reflected in their live performances. Chosen to open the concerts for big artists of the metal scene, such as Ozzy Osbourne, Pain of Salvation, Paradise Lost, Burst, Mekong Delta, Cilice, Rotting Christ, and many more, as well as their participation in many festivals around Greece and other European countries, they quickly became one of the best rock live acts of their home country. In 2014 Metal Hammer (Greece) invited POEM to participate in the Tribute Album to PINK FLOYD's Masterpiece "The dark side of the moon", performing the songs "Brain Damage" and "Eclipse".

The new rising star of progressive metal, the Greek band Poem have signed a worldwide record deal with the Swedish label ViciSolum Productions. Poem's second album "Skein Syndrome" is set for release March 18, 2016. First single and video track "Passive Observer", will be available on February 15!


George Prokopiou - Vocals/guitar
Laurence Bergstrom - Lead guitar
Stratos Haidos - Bass
Stavros Rigos - Drums

Worldwide: ViciSolum Productions

2016 - Skein Syndrome

2009 - The Great Secret Show